School Logo

Chipping Warden

Primary Academy

Get in touch

Contact Details

Social Media

Welcome to our Reception Class Page

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the ‘curriculum’ of the Reception year. The EYFS framework sets out key learning goals for your child’s early development which, if achieved, provide the 'foundations' for all later learning and successes, focusing on developing every child's skills through, playing and exploring, active learning, creating and thinking critically through 7 areas of learning and development:

The 3 Prime Areas of the EYFS are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development. 

The 4 Specific Areas of the EYFS are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

We help our Reception children to work towards the Early Learning Goals which are the Knowledge, Skills and Understanding children should have at the end of their first academic year at school. Our work involves ongoing assessment and reporting to parents and/or carers as well as considering our children’s Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements.